From The Editor | October 21, 2011

Peter Staecker Selected As 2012 IEEE President-Elect


By Paul Kruczkowski, Editor

The voting membership of IEEE has chosen Peter W. Staecker, IEEE Lifetime Fellow and current member of the IEEE Board of Directors, as 2012 IEEE President-Elect. The election results, which were certified by the IEEE Tellers Committee on October 7, will not become official until they are approved by IEEE Board of Directors at its November meeting. Staecker defeated fellow microwave engineer Roger D. Pollard, Emeritus Professor at The University of Leeds (UK), for the position, receiving nearly 56% of the total vote.

Staecker has served the IEEE for 28 years in many leadership roles in the areas of membership, finance, publications, and strategic planning. He is a past president of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) and has been on the IEEE Board of Directors for five years. He intends to use the leadership skills he developed professionally and through his years of service to IEEE to build consensus within the Board of Directors to successfully implement IEEE objectives. Staecker’s position statement lists five principal areas that he would like to guide the membership of IEEE to effectively address:


  • Providing life-long career support and resources for IEEE members
  • Advancing technologies
  • Improving the quality of publications and conferences
  • Deploying technology for humanitarian purposes
  • Increasing the value of IEEE membership


As 2012 president-elect, Staecker will not become president until 2013, succeeding 2011 IEEE President-Elect Gordon W. Day of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (retired). IEEE presidents serve one-year terms.